SCOM

SQL MPs — Issue with Seed Installation Discovery

SQL 2005 and 2008 use a regkey to populate the installation discovery seed. This regkey isn’t very accurate though. Follow the link for details on the problem and the workaround.

A link to my post on the Microsoft SCOM MP forum……………..

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/operationsmanagermgmtpacks/thread/4fe7f375-869c-4bee-a466-b027153075b1

 

The SQL 2005/2008 discovery MPs look for the presence of a regkey to populate the seed class. My issue with this is two-fold:

1) The regkey they check doesn’t provide the expected results. I.e. SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\90 can exist even if SQL 2005 isn’t present. Not sure how this happens, but I have a bare regkey and C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Shared\instapi.dll. I have this situation happening on multiple servers (50+) in my environment. My guess is it relates to SQL Mgmt Tools and Clients.

2) As a workaround, I unsealed the discovery MP and replaced “SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\90” with “SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL.1” (SQL 2005 Discovery MP). The issue now is that I can’t reseal the MP…MPSeal gives me an error stating “Failed to verify Discovery [Microsoft.SQLServer.2005.SeedDiscovery]Cannot find ManagementPackElement [Type=ManagementPackClass, ID=Microsoft.SQLServer.2005.Seed] in ManagementPack [ManagementPack:[Name=Microsoft.SQLServer.2005.Discovery, KeyToken=, Version=6.3.173.1]]” This is roughly the same error I get when trying to open the unmodified MP in the Authoring console. So I can’t even modify the seed discovery!

Background: Same issues with SCOM 2007 R2 and SCOM 2012 SP1. Issue applies to SQL 2005 and SQL 2008 seed discovery logic (I don’t have SQL 2012 available).

Leave a Reply

